Skip to content

Shit Wolf… tell me that name doesn’t rule.

May 4, 2009

And if the name didnt convince you, than maybe this image will...

Oh. My. God. Excuse me, I need to change my pants...

Hello, Marquis Meowmers here. I’d like to apologize for the recent lack of updates, finals has gotten in the way of everything. Surprise, I know. But I’m back for the next 20 minutes, and I’d like to talk to you about something near and dear to my little cat heart: Tennessee.

Tennessee is famous for a lot of things. In addition to being home for 3/4ths of The Animal Show’s staff, Tennessee pretty much owns Bonnaroo, Jack Daniels, The Smokey Mountains, The San Antonio Taco Company (yeah, that makes sense), Miley Cyrus (for half of the year), Pat Summit, part of The Mississippi River, Goo Goo Clusters, Three Six Mafia, The Batman Building, an unsightly ‘Sun Orb,’ Kid Rock, and a giant statue of Nathan Bedford Forrest (who wasn’t as bad of a dude as the history books/KKK would like you to believe). But I would never say that our modern music scene is as great as the media makes it out to be. Gospel and Country-Western still reign unless you live in Memphis, which has been devoid of good Blues since like 1970. Sure, we put out Be Your Own PET, The Silver Jews, Lambchop, and Jay Reatard, but the TN indie scene has yet to make the huge splash that NYC, CA, Portland, and Baltimore have. And that sucks, because there are a ton of great acts residing in our phallic-looking state. Luckily, I was put on this Earth to do two things and two things only: talk about music and rep TN till I die. And now that I have this blog thing, I can do both AT THE SAME TIME. So I’ll start with a fucking banging remix/mash-up DJ from the greatly under-appreciated Murfreesboro scene who goes by the name Shit Wolf.

Shit Wolf makes some really really rad re-edits and mash-ups using mainstream vocals and mostly dance-noise instrumentals. My favorite track (so far) is Soulja Bored: Soulja Boy’s theme song mashed with a truly rad Wavves sample. Game, set, and match, right?

Nope. Almost every song on each of his free EPs rule more than I could ever imagine. There is honestly nothing I love more than mash-up artists who use really weird punk/noise samples in their music, which is why I implore Greg Gillis and Ethan Ward (I know you or Vinny will read this, you lazy bastards) to use more of them in their megamixes. And while almost every song Shit Wolf has made available is Hype Machine worthy, there are some obvious stand-outs. His re-edit of Dan Deacon’s recent single Red F is ready for your next party playlist, as is Keep Hustlin’ and Your City Is On Fireman (which utilizes a Sim City theme song sample). It seems like Shit Wolf is putting out new release every 5 minutes, so keep checking his MySpace!

But enough about me, lets get our Shit Wolf on:

Shit Wolf – Soulja’s Bored

Shit Wolf – Keep Hustlin’

Dan Deacon – Red F (Shit Wolf re-edit)

DOWNLOAD EVERY EP FOR FREE AT HIS MYSPACE WHICH THIS IS ANOTHER LINK TO

No comments yet

Leave a comment