Skip to content

Not as good as Taco Bell Doritos, but close…

July 6, 2009
Where you at??

Where you at??

Many of my childhood memories are comprised of the extravagant yet startlingly cheap buffet at Pizza Hut. What resulted was my “pizza gut” and “pizza butt” that Das Racist so eloquently speak of in their blazing hot single “Combination Pizza Hut & Taco Bell.” While many logical arguments can be made for why it is one of the worst disgraces to music since Billy Ray Cyrus, this song is undeniably a summer jam that can be blasted at beach BBQs, roller-rink dances, and trailerpark hootenannies, securing the much sought-after summer jam trifecta. I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I thought this song was a parody on first listen. Luckily for summer jams, profound and complicated lyrics are not integral to their success. I don’t think anyone has pulled an all-nighter studying the intricacies and depth of summer jams like “Who Let the Dogs Out” or “Bootylicious.” And while it may be at least two minutes too long, the synth on the Wallpaper remix is at the very least “chunkified” on Edward’s internationally-renowned chunk scale. If nothing else, this song will put you on the ground laughing and then make you dance senselessly.

Best served covered in Nacho Cheez Product:

Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell (Wallpaper Remix) – Das Racist (YSI)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 9:50 am

    Let it be noted that this is the first post (of many) by rookie Show staffer David, not to be confused with veteran Show staffer Dave. Needless to say I’m very excited to have him on board, and I’m sure you will be, too.

  2. Michael Rosenbaum permalink
    July 6, 2009 9:22 pm

    Good showing for a rookie. Agree that “Combination” runs a little long.

  3. July 7, 2009 3:38 am

    Taco Bell Doritos should burn in hell indefinitely. What a terrible abomination. They should bring back 3d Doritos.

  4. PBH permalink
    July 7, 2009 6:02 pm

    Gotta say, David, I’m not so sure it’s *not* a parody. In any case, I’ve always preferred the KFC/Taco Bell franchises myself, but they don’t have a club banger written about them. At least, not yet.

  5. jdallinder permalink
    July 16, 2009 11:03 am

    Thanks for making my day! Nice.

  6. Hannah permalink
    August 21, 2009 10:06 am

    I was so excited to see this post! I’ve been listening to this song (and singing it to anyone who will listen) all summer. It’s so funny/ridiculous you can’t help but love it.

Leave a comment