Skip to content

Sufjan Stevens’ BQE coming to soon to your ears, express.

July 21, 2009
Sufjan performing the BQE suite at the Howard Gilman Opera House in Brooklyn, November 1, 2007

Sufjan performing the BQE suite at the Howard Gilman Opera House in Brooklyn, November 1, 2007

Most nights, I lay awake praying to the blue translucent ghost of Alec Guinness for a new Sufjan Stevens release. And he usually ignores me. But last night, sir Alec was generous. And this morning I received in my inbox a press release from Sufjan’s label, Asthmatic Kitty, announcing the release (at long last) of his monumental instrumental: 2007’s BQE tribute.

For those of you who are so worthless that you’ve forgotten some of the minutiae of Sufjan’s bizarre side-projects, allow me to refresh your memory: this was an instrumental tribute to the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway, complete with 3 simultaneously-screened super-8 videos which, if memory serves, Stevens himself shot.

I’m pumped, and not just because this CD/DVD release comes with a complementary Viewmaster reel. More because for 2 years I’ve been spinning the two movements of BQE I was able to find in my travels across the internet non-stop, and I’m glad that I’ll finally be able to complete the sets. Until then, teasers ho!

The BQE Movement 3 (Live on WNYC) – Sufjan Stevens (YSI)

The BQE Movement 6 (Live on WNYC) – Sufjan Stevens (YSI)

Read the news release, view the trailer, and preorder the thing here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 4:44 pm

    Can’t wait! Can’t stop listening or sharing his music.

  2. July 21, 2009 6:51 pm

    Nice post. What is your favorite Sufjan song and why?

  3. fascinatingscience permalink
    August 4, 2009 6:53 pm

    There are… no vocals??? I like his instrumental music but for me Sufjan is about his great, often emotional voice and lyrics.

Trackbacks

  1. Sufjan Stevens – Releases October 24, 2009 « Heroes of Indie Music

Leave a comment