Skip to content

Words and Some Verses on the Passing of a Friend

June 6, 2009
SPOILER ALERT: Scrubs is over, dudes.

SPOILER ALERT: Scrubs is over, dudes.

I like to think of The Show as a place where friends can come together and share important things from their lives. For example, when Dave posted a few days ago, he was trying to tell me, “yes, Edward, I am alive and well, despite the fact that we haven’t heard from one another in two weeks. Also, you’re an asshole for never contacting me.” I know, that completely went unnoticed by our general readership, but you’ve got to learn to read between the lines, guys. I’ll teach you. Later. For now, it’s time to come together to mourn the passing of a great friend and partner in crime: the late, great Scrubs.

I’ve never read the Torah or anything, but I have a Jewish friend who once told me that Jewish funerals serve to commemorate the life of the deceased, rather than mourn their passing. I like that, and figure I’ll do the same by taking you through some of my favorite musical moments of the show. Scrubs gave me more, musically, than it ought to have. At ages 13 through 16, I used to crawl the internet to figure out what the songs were that had appeared on the last episode I’d seen, and then Limewire those tracks. Yes, I have the entire “Blanks” album (Ted the Lawyer’s band, for the uninitiated). And yes, I had an “Air Band” with several friends in high school. It was a lot cooler than it sounds when you’re blogging about it, I promise. The point is that I got more really good and memorable music out of Scrubs than could possibly be contained in just one post. Maybe I’ll take the time later when I’m so inclined (or if anyone tells me they want more) to draw attention to some other really good Scrubs-featured music. But, for now, I want to focus on some of my favorite dancing moments, which gave me reason to hunt down and love some truly classic songs, including Bell Biv Devoe’s immortal “Poison.” Watch, laugh, remember, listen:

Still D.R.E. – Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg (YSI) (mega)

The Theme From Sanford and Son – Quincy Jones (YSI) (mega)

Get Up (Sex Machine) – James Brown (YSI) (mega)

Poison – Bell Biv Devoe (YSI) (mega)

IF ANYONE CAN LOCATE A YOUTUBE OF THE MOMENT WHERE TURK SINGS ROB BASE & DJ E-Z ROCK’S “JOY AND PAIN” IN THE O.R. IN SEASON 1 EPISODE 23 TITLED “MY HERO” AND SEND ME A LINK TO IT I WILL BE ETERNALLY GRATEFUL. SO WILL THE INTERNET, PROBABLY.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. gnatbean permalink
    June 6, 2009 6:15 pm

    Ummmm not to ruin your sense of nostalgia and everything but Scrubs was not canceled. It will be on this fall and Zach Braff is still in it. You should probably you know try google or something before you go spouting nonsense to the internets.

    • June 6, 2009 6:23 pm

      First of all, I will spout as much nonsense as I want to the internet without ever googling anything. That’s my prerogative.

      As for the substance of your argument, any good Scrubs fan knows that the show that is continuing is a shade of its previous self. I think the fact that this season’s last episode was titled “My Finale” and features the last appearances of Zach Braff and Sarah Chalke as cast members is enough to call the show “over.” I never once claimed it was canceled.

      • marquismeowmersiv permalink
        June 6, 2009 7:13 pm

        On May 14, 2009, it was announced that Zach Braff has signed to be on Scrubs for six episodes to transition the show to its new format, which is currently unknown. Sarah Chalke has also been approached with a deal similar to Braff’s.[41] On May 23, 2009 Zach Braff confirmed to Scrubs fans on MySpace his involvement with season 9, but stated that he knew very little about the shape the show will take.[42] Also, Donald Faison, John C. McGinley and Neil Flynn are signed to be regulars for the next season, in second position to other projects.[43] Judy Reyes, according to reports has not yet been officially approached, however it is expected, if she was to return she would reprise her role, merely as a guest star.[44]

        You’re both kind of right I guess…

      • Dave permalink
        June 9, 2009 3:53 pm

        so, what he’s saying is that you were both totally pWned into n00bsauce.

  2. June 9, 2009 6:10 pm

    Because this actually became a minor argument, I decided to tie up all the loose ends by asking my good friend Zach Braff to answer this question in the form of a MySpace blog:

    http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendId=97669648&blogId=490706716

  3. June 15, 2009 11:55 am

    it’s so good

  4. Eamonn permalink
    June 24, 2009 8:35 pm

    Is there any way we can stop the new season? Seriously, it is so incredibly wrong.

  5. June 25, 2009 5:54 am

    Several things:
    1. I would pay good internet money to have a post on all of the good Scrubs music. please?
    2. You forgot the air band moment itself! made that boston song THAT much better
    3. I literally got shivers when watching Turk do Bell Biv DeVoe again. and not just cause im sitting next to an air conditioner.

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  2. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times « The Animal Show

Leave a Reply

