Skip to content

A Reintroduction

May 30, 2009
New suits in space!

New suits in space!

Once upon a bible, Jesus spent 40 days and nights in the wilderness. I could tell you why, but I’m too lazy to ask my dad (getting told bible stories is the worst). I’m not going to call myself Jesus because we all remember why John Lennon was shot, but I will say this: I have returned from my own 22 days in the wilderness (or 317 blogdays), and, as I remember Jesus did, I’ve returned bearing a domain name. Yes, as you may have noticed when you clicked your old animalshow.wordpress.com bookmark, we’ve set up shop over at theanimalshow.org. And though my absence may have led you to frequent tears and repeated questioning of whether life is worth continuing, rest assured I’m back and badder than ever.

If your continual frantic facebook messages, emails, and drunken tweets are any indication, you haven’t taken the absence well. You want to know why it is I’ve abandoned you. Well, folks, there’s a joke answer and a real one. One is that I’ve been busy building an Uncle Fumerous entirely out of purple, green, and orange Play-Doh.

The other is that I’d simply burned out on mp3 blogs. For a little while now, I’d been feeling oversaturated with new music. The dozen odd requests for listens and mp3s I get sent daily don’t help, but I felt like it was time for me to take a step back and reevaluate what it was I wanted to do as a blogger, or whether I wanted to continue at all. It was becoming very clear that the need I felt to post 6-sentence blurbs daily to maintain my position on hype machine was sucking most of the fun out of this, and I ended up posting the sort of stuff I would normally sit on in order to keep a new post on the front page. The hours I spent on the top 100 songs charts on hype machine waiting for my songs rank among the time I spent playing one-suit spider solitaire as the time I consider most uselessly wasted. And they provided less entertainment at the time than spider solitaire.

Guess which answer was the joke!

Anyway, I’ve decided that, from now on, I’m only posting material I’m really excited about. I won’t put stuff up in order to have stuff up. And I’m not going to try to be on the verge of something hot and new. If I like it, I’ll post it. Old, new, obscure, mainstream, remixed, original — who cares. Just good material, and just when it speaks to me.

That said, I think I’ve got enough stuff from the past weeks to continue posting regularly for some time, so don’t take this as a “yeah, I’m back, but only when I want to be.” I’m still here for you, and I still want feedback, as always. Besides, we’ve got a number of pretty cool additions we’ll be sending your way. Longtime spiritual advisor Louis Weeks will be joining the staff to provide live reviews of up-and-coming bands he finds in the scene this summer, and that super-secret surprise Marquis Meowmers alluded to some time ago is still on the way. Keep your mouses pointing here, dudes. This is the summer of the Show.

Until we meet again (and it will be soon, I promise), here are some sweet summer songs for you to scarf down, including the song I listened to 57 times since we last spoke: Nickel Creek/Chris Thile’s phenomenal “If You’re Gonna Leave Me (Set Me Up With One of Your Friends).”

If You’re Gonna Leave Me (Set Me Up With One of Your Friends) – Nickel Creek (mega) (YSI)

Blame It (feat. T-Pain) – Jamie Foxx (mega) (YSI)

Forgot About Coke & 11th (Starters Remix) – Eminem & Spank Rock (mega) (YSI)

The Reeling (Calvin Harris Remix) – Passion Pit (mega) (YSI)

34 Comments leave one →
  1. ted permalink
    June 1, 2009 2:06 pm

    Hey man, could you re-up the tracks somewhere that doesn’t have a download limit? Bundle them and up them @ rapidshare?

    Appreciate it, keep up the good work!

    • June 1, 2009 4:55 pm

      do you mean the wait on megaupload? Because rapidshare does the exact same thing. I know YSI ups expire pretty quickly, but I do those because it’s what Hype Machine recognizes. If you want, I can put them up elsewhere. I tend to use mega just because it’s got the most user-friendly interface.

  2. flugs permalink
    June 1, 2009 2:22 pm

    This so called “Forgot About Coke & 11th (Starters Remix) – Eminem & Spank Rock” is in fact a track by Danger

  3. tre' cool permalink
    June 1, 2009 4:31 pm

    OH MY GOD. PLEASE get rid of these copycat loser starter djs. These remixes are so damn lame

  4. Brandon permalink
    June 1, 2009 6:20 pm

    ya this is a mash up I guess of Danger’s “11h30”.

  5. June 1, 2009 9:11 pm

    yeah, the “Forgot About Coke & 11th (Starters Remix) – Eminem & Spank Rock” is basically a sample of “11h30” by Danger with eminem & spank rock’s vox on it.

    But I really enjoyed reading your post and the other songs. Thanks.

  6. June 2, 2009 12:12 am

    Must be doin sumthin rite..

    Check out the Starters DJ’s – The Flavor
    (Official Remix Album)

    Feat. Cool Kids, Hey Champ, Donnis, Kid Sister, Lady Sovereign, Chester French and MORE!!!

    coming in JUNEEE!!!

  7. DonP permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:46 am

    i thought all of the mixes were great choices and eclectic in taste…

    i thought the point of mash-ups was to put together different songs/and your sounds…

    tre-cool… its not cool… to hate
    and not make constructive criticism
    can uor have you been #1 or #2 on hypeM.com ???
    LoL

  8. REALLY??? permalink
    June 2, 2009 12:42 pm

    Is this really worthy of #1 on hype machine? someone took a mstrkrft song and put 2 acapelas over it. nobody has any creativity any more

  9. REALLY??? permalink
    June 2, 2009 12:44 pm

    btw i meant Danger, not mstrkrft

  10. Dniss permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:13 pm

    Definition of hipster states “hipster is defined by a lack of authenticity, by a sense of lateness to the scene”….your scene is so played out gents. wait until these high schoolers get bored of you and good luck. I will have a laugh

    • marquismeowmersiv permalink
      June 3, 2009 1:17 am

      I believe that everyone who writes for this blog attends a post-secondary schooling institution of some sort. Furthermore, the fact that you are implying that the authorial function is at all useful in modern society is laughable. What right do you have to suggest that Starters are “unoriginal” for expressing themselves via sampling? Is there no art in mashing? If you answered yes, you should cease quoting anything and everything. Pure copying and quotanialism is either acceptable as a form of expression or it isn’t, you can’t simply pick and choose which facets of post-modernity are acceptable and which aren’t.

      Additionally, where does one find a definition of “hipster”? Who wrote it? Does it not go against the post-structuralist nature of this so-called ‘hipsterdom’?

      Finally (and most importantly), honkey dong drawers.

  11. June 2, 2009 4:43 pm

    Yo check out box.net . Easier for blog scrapers beacuse it gives you a link to real mp3 file.

    • marquismeowmersiv permalink
      June 3, 2009 1:18 am

      How related is box.net to boxtr? I recall Edward telling me that boxtr was blocked at his college…

      • June 5, 2009 12:37 am

        Boxstr, o Marquis, has proved troublesome at times, is not blocked by my college, and is entirely unrelated to box.net.

        I generally loathe box.net’s download interface. But if the populace likes it, I can bend to their will.

  12. June 2, 2009 5:35 pm

    You have your opinion and are entitled to not like it. However, music has been pulled and sampled from other songs for a long time. That in fact is the underlining principal of DJing, taking other artist records and creating something new and unique with your own spin on it. Learn your history kids… If you had taken the time to listen to the track it is sampled from that Danger track and is not the same as the original. The beginning of the track is kept the same to give away the sample. I think you need to take the track for what it is and enjoy it or not listen. Who are you to say that it is not worthy of the position it has gained? Also who are you to label this music as hipster music? I think there are some hidden motives for you to care so much about this post. However thank you for the attention on the track.. Starters DJs – The Flavor w/ original Remixes will release later this summer… Enjoy

  13. DonP permalink
    June 2, 2009 7:16 pm

    LoL… StartersDjs are one part of the awesome production Young Live does… honestly it got a reaction out of you guys and the person from HypeM who decided it should be #2 so as YLI said

    must b doing something right

    thanks for you opinions and criticism everyone!
    And as you have already been doing LoL… stayed tuned to your fav. blog site and im sure u will be seeing more oF…

    Myspace.com/StartersDjs

    Myspace.com/ThaBasix

    thnx to those who like it and to those that are hatterz

  14. mike D permalink
    June 2, 2009 11:41 pm

    half of the posts on here are your own, defending haters on a blog. think about that G.

  15. DonP permalink
    June 3, 2009 12:32 pm

    Because the hate has got to stop or b addressed G

    thanks for listening

  16. swollup permalink
    June 5, 2009 2:02 pm

    yall are some clowns and get h8d on the daily in this city. don prince gay red pants wearin, acne bump havin,copycattin, wack rappin ass bein the worst of all. dint u get ur house defaulted rich boy? actin like u got loot…pssh. yall actin like u djs. actin like people respect u and dont just use ya parties to get underages into n drink. actors….waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack

  17. swollup permalink
    June 5, 2009 2:02 pm

    oh yeah. trentino the only playa in the group with talent btw

  18. dennis sarp permalink
    June 8, 2009 2:20 pm

    i can honestly say i despise the starters djs. the only reason im posting on here is because there is no reason at all hypem should of had this at number 2 or whatever it was. really now…you all even post on your own blogs “adressing haters”. that is pathetic.

    other than these delinquents, i enjoyed the calvin remix! keep posting good music hyepm.

  19. djrickysi permalink
    June 21, 2009 4:20 am

    you’ll should spend the time you admiring everything we do and go make it happen for yourself. thanks for the attention though.

  20. DonP permalink
    June 21, 2009 4:40 am

    i do wear tight red pants(rockstar girls love it!)… and one of my homes did get defaulted on by my own choice, but i own more property and i own you because your studying me and my team so hard…

    Young Live is the most talented, he makes the remixes and original production and fly flyers!MopTop is on point wit song selection and djing hands down… most hype dj in the city…

    but since we’re coming up i wont reduce myself to your level… here is some good advice
    (for you someone who has to be broke because u have time to even check these post)

    get money kid! lol

    big thanks to hypem!!!! and all of you enthusiastic fans for your time and attention… holler next week when the next joint climbs to the top of this blog 🙂

    want more stuff to hate on? This was at the top of hype m when it dropped too… LoL

    http://hypem.com/search/tha%20basix/1/

    Every Sunday @ ButterFly 722 W Grand, Chicago, IL
    “Butter Fly Effect” feat. sounds by Earn $$$ & The Starters Djs
    10pm-2am

    Every Friday @ Tuman’s 2159 W Chicago
    Alchohol Abuse Center Nights feat. sounds by Earn $$$ & The Starters Djs
    10pm-2am

  21. DonP permalink
    June 21, 2009 5:25 am

    b t w, i was 20 when i bought that home!!!

    its not an act

    but im not the point though…

    Starters Djs mixes are hot n its only about to get better

  22. !!! permalink
    June 30, 2009 3:16 pm

    what a group of bitches…grow up.

  23. djadlen permalink
    July 3, 2009 12:19 pm

    Very good article, I would add some things but overall it is very comprehensive.
    I was looking for this!

  24. Don P permalink
    July 22, 2009 1:27 pm

    thanks for your positivity dj adlen…

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts « WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

