Skip to content

A Cover Worth Covering: First Aid Kit Finish Fleet Foxes

April 8, 2009
Lookit the cute li'l foxes!

Aww...Lookit the cute li'l foxes!

I keep all my music on my external hard drive. I do this for two reasons: first, because it leaves my laptop plenty of unused harddrive space; second, because I have so much music, it’s enough to crush any computing device. Seriously, it doesn’t matter how much music you have, I have a hundred albums more. Literally. Name how many hours of music you have on your hard drive, and I guarantee I have about a bazillion more. Because having the most music makes you the best music enthusiast ever. Take notes, kids. Anyway, the fact that it’s on my external hard drive means that, when I take my laptop elsewhere, I’m forced to leave my music behind. Unless I grab my ipod. But sometimes I forget. And when I forget, I turn to hypemachine. Or some of my favorite blogs. Or youtube. This morning, as I was youtubing some Fleet Foxes with which to knock out a few lines of Seneca, I stumbled upon one of if not the finest cover I’ve heard in a long time.

This cover is of the already-amazing Fleet Foxes song, “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song,” done up by a duo of Swedish someteen-year-old sisters, who go by the nom de rock First Aid Kit. They’ve amassed half a million views on youtube for this cover, and it’s not hard to see why. They’ve done the impossible: they’ve crafted harmonies which are somehow even more beautiful than the original’s bone-chilling perfection. Maybe it’s all the Homer I’ve been reading, but I recognize traces of the divine — you are goddesses, not mortals. You exceed the limits of the mortal realm.

That’s not to say that this only exceeds the original musically. These kids wear flannel, too, but they do it IN A FOREST. And they’re not just Williamsburg hipsters, are they? (More like Fleet Phonies, if you ask me.) (Wait, I take that back — I love you guys unquestioningly.) Also, the girl on the left totally looks like Winnie Cooper, which makes me like her about 8 times more.

Tiger Mountain Peasant Song – Fleet Foxes (mediafire)

First Aid Kit’s album, Drunken Trees, is pretty awesome, too. I’d recommend buying it.

Leave a Reply

