Skip to content

Mix Tapes

March 31, 2009
Just think, I could totally be forcing you to listen to William Basinskis Disintegration Loops, but Im not because not everyone likes hour-long minimalist songs

Just think, I could totally be forcing you to listen to William Basinski's Disintegration Loops, but I'm not because I know that not everyone likes hour-long minimalist songs.

Hello Animal Show readers / Hype Machine users. Tis I, Marquis Meowmers IV. While taking a work break from a paper I’m writing (entitled “Hyper-reality, Animation, and Irony”), I StumbedUpon a nice little website that will probably be sued into oblivion by the end of the year. 8tracks.com is an online mixtape service, similar to the now recontexualized (due to legal issues) muxtape.com. All you do is sign up, log in, and start mix-taping.

Now, I know you probably aren’t asking yourself,  “Why the hell does this deserve a post?” but I’ll tell you anyways. I’ve been wanting to do a series of posts that tackle musical topics that are larger than a single artist or remix or mash-up. I’ve wanted to make posts like “the best albums of 1988” and “Shoegazing: a beginners guide” and “My favorite tracks by Fucked Up” and “D.I.T.C – Rest In Peace Big L”. However, it’s nice to have a very wide array songs available for that sort of stuff, and this is an easier and way more legal way to share tracks than uploading to Boxstr. If nothing else, I will probably have a mixtape every week or so documenting my 10 favorite songs of the week (my musical tastes change to reflect whatever Pitchfork is promoting).

So, without further ado, mixtape 1: Marquis Meowmers IV’s Best of 2008 MixTape.

This MixTape encompasses my favorite track from each of my top 15 albums of 2008. Complicated enough? I thought so. Here’s to new trends. Additionally, if you’re a regular reader get stoked! Within the next two weeks, we will have an exclusive surprise here on The Animal Show!

Leave a Reply

