Skip to content

A Sufjam — Tor’s Illinoize

March 8, 2009
MSPaint -- an Animal Show tradition.

MSPaint -- an Animal Show tradition.

Ya’ll know I’m all about the Sufjy Stevie. And ya’ll know I dig those genre-crossing mash-ups. But what you don’t know about me is how frequently I bitch about the lack of good genre-crossing Sufjan mash-ups. Seriously, I make terrible company because of it. Lucky for me, Tor has just dropped an absolute monster of a Sufjan mixtape, blending selections from Illinoise, Seven Swans, A Sun Came and Sufjan’s Christmas Mixtapes with the sweet rhymes of artists ranging from Aesop Rock to Outkast. And, unlike the only Sufjan mash-up I previously had, the disastrous “Jesus Walks” plus “They are Night Zombies!…” result “Zombies Walk,” these sound like they ought to be paired. So much so, you can go periods of several minutes without realizing you’re listening to mashes. I can’t think of higher praise to give an “a plus b” mash-up album.

This thing is absolutely nasty. Catch the tracklisting, and if that doesn’t grab you, sample before you download the whole thing from Tor’s website:

  1. Tor / Sufjan Stevens – Star of Wonder / None Shall Pass (f. Aesop Rock)
  2. Tor / Sufjan Stevens – Dumb I Sound / ATLiens (f. Outkast)
  3. Tor / Sufjan Stevens – John Wayne Gacy Jr. / Specialize (f. Pete Rock & CL Smooth)
  4. Tor / Sufjan Stevens – The Tallest Man / I Like It (f. Grand Puba)
  5. Tor / Sufjan Stevens – Kill / Any Type of Way (f. Big Daddy Kane & DJ Premier)
  6. Tor / Sufjan Stevens – Night Zombies / Talkin’ My Shit (f. Brother Ali)
  7. Tor / Sufjan Stevens – The Dress Looks Nice On You / Make You Feel That Way (f. Gift Of Gab)

Tor / Sufjan Stevens – Star of Wonder / None Shall Pass (f. Aesop Rock)

Tor / Sufjan Stevens – The Tallest Man / I Like It (f. Grand Puba)

Download the whole thing here. Thank me later.

One Comment leave one →
  1. nitekite permalink
    March 23, 2009 2:25 pm

    this is really smooth. and tight as movies.

Leave a Reply

