Skip to content

It’s a Fruitastic Day

March 1, 2009
by
Damn, Fruit Bats. You scary!

Damn, Fruit Bats. You scary!

I woke up this morning with snow dusting down outside my window. Apparently someone didn’t get the memo that February ended a very long time ago. Needless to say, I needed a musical pick-me-up, so I turned to my go-to band, the Fruit Bats. One of the most Animal Show bands out there, these dudes play some seriously sweet folkish indie rock. I once had the pleasure of seeing them as they performed an acoustic set during a power outage at Nashville’s own Grimey’s Records, which definitely stands as among the coolest concerts I’ve ever seen. Plus, they autographed a poster for me, and one of them wrote, “catch a sweet wave, Edward!!” and drew a picture of a little tsunami-sized wave. It was pretty awesome. This is the sort of music which will make you glad you’re awake and on the computer instead of asleep and ignoring the world. Also, it’s great for car trips. Keep that in mind, kids. I’m going to try to let the music speak for itself, so see if you can’t figure out why the FBs are among my favorite bands:

Lives of Crime – Fruit Bats (mediafire)

Earthquake of ’73 – Fruit Bats (mediafire)

When U Love Somebody – Fruit Bats (mediafire)

I would highly, highly recommend purchasing their most recent, phenomenal album, Spelled in Bones. Seriously, just do it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

