Skip to content

Buzzin’: Bishop Allen

February 26, 2009
by
Being in a band must be fun...

Being in a band must be fun...

Here at the Animal Show, we operate on a very internet-heavy recommendation system. Gmail’s servers have often fallen under the collosal deluge of emails we receive daily with people asking — nay, begging! — to be featured in the Show. And, much like you, dear readers, we read blogs. But the kind of blogs you’ve never heard of. The kind that are password-protected for extra alt-ness. Sorry, but that’s what it’s like to be in the musical upper echelon. HOWEVER, we still value good old-fashioned word of mouth above all else. And that’s just where I heard about Bishop Allen, a twee-to-the-max group straight outta Brooklyn: from a mouth.

Power-pop is my weakness. Like rainbow sprinkle Dunkaroos, I will do anything for it. Within reason. I wouldn’t like milk a goat, or anything crazy like that. But I would say “pretty please,” and maybe hold out the “ease” for a comically long time. And I know comedy. With that in mind, you can imagine what I was like when I first heard the super-singable and snap-along-able melodies of Bishop Allen. Milk came out my nose. Not goat milk, but it was still pretty gross. And bad for my laptop. Their 3rd album, Grrr, comes out March 10th. I’ve pre-ordered. I’d suggest doing the same. And here’s why:

Dimmer – Bishop Allen (zshare)

Oklahoma – Bishop Allen (zshare)

The Ancient Commensense of Things – Bishop Allen (zshare)

Pre-order the album. Trust me, you won’t regret doing so.

Februaremedy count: 28/28. We’re done here, folks.

One Comment leave one →
  1. marquismeowmersiv permalink
    February 26, 2009 5:27 pm

    Was that mouth my mouth like 3 years ago?

Leave a Reply

