Skip to content

When I grow up I want to live in Baltimore so I can hang out at Wham City…

February 24, 2009
This is who my kids role model will be. Im gonna be a ttly alt-dad.

This is who my kids' role model will be. I'm gonna be a ttly alt-dad.

I love Dan Deacon. I love his music. I love the fact that he is not ashamed of loving cheese burgers. I love his ideology of art as a complete concept rather than separate mediums (see Ultimate Reality). I love his love of stupid tee shirts. I loved Silly Hat vs. Eagle Hat, I loved Spiderman of The Rings, and I love that he is able to reinvent himself, musically, from album to album. I love his interactive live shows. I love his dedication to independent artists. I love that he loves Girl Talk. And guess what? I FUCKING LOVE his newest album: Bromst.

On Bromst, Deacon really shows a newfound sense of maturity, moving away from both his semi-harsh noise sound on his earliest recordings and his pseudo-electro-thrash-noise sound on Spiderman of The Rings/Acorn Master.  Instead, Bromst explores the more relaxed side Deacon’s creative capacities, grabbing the baton right where songs like ‘Big Milk’ and ‘Pink Batman’ let go on Spiderman of The Rings. Of course, he really takes ‘relaxed’ to a whole new level of Dan Deacon on several tracks, including one which opens like a Lullatone jam, and another that features nothing but looped vocals of a girl singing some incomprehensible lyrics in the style of a traditional Appalachian folk singer… sweet.

But why should I just describe it? Let’s hear some samples already!

Dan Deacon – Build Voices

Dan Deacon – Surprise Stefani

Dan Deacon – Red F

Dan Deacon – Wet Wings (this is the one with the looped ladies’ larynx)

The album is set to drop March 24th, and you can pre-order the vinyl HERE. I really hope you pre-order it, because this album rules… 11 songs, most of which pass the 6 minute mark. Of course, if you really want, the album leaked like 9 days ago, and is thus available all across the internet.

This album is probably the 2nd best I’ve heard this year… 2009 is looking really promising right now.

(P.S I JUST FOUND OUT THAT DAN DEACON HAS RELEASED ALL ALBUMS FROM THE PRE-SPIDERMAN OF THE RINGS ERA ON HIS WEBSITE FOR FREE… CHECK THEM ALL OUT HERE)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

