Skip to content

The Way Remixes Ought to Sound, Part II: “I’m A Cuckoo”

February 21, 2009
Has anyone else ever stopped to think about how dumb the internet is?

Has anyone else ever stopped to think about how dumb the internet is?

Belle and Sebastian may actually have been the first “indie” band I ever loved. I recieved “If You Find Yourself Caught in Love” on a mixtape at age 14 or so (shortly after the album was released), and was blown away. This was back in the Dark Ages of musical downloading, before blogs (can you believe such a time existed?), so my response was to Limewire the shit out of the band, which really only resulted in my getting 4 extra songs I liked. One of those was “I’m a Cuckoo,” and it quickly became the song that got me out of my brief teen angst period. THX, BL+SBST!

I once had the privilege of seeing the band perform in Nashville’s magnificent Ryman Auditorium, and it put to rest all my fears about the band (and all the rumors I’d heard about their live performances). They were fun and lively, and engaged the audience fantastically. While playing “I’m a Cuckoo,” one of my friends turned to me and told me that, as much as he loved the original version, the remix by the Avalanches was even better. I looked at him cross-eyed, in part because I was trying to continually watch the stage while making eye contact, and also because every remix I had ever heard (all of which occurred under the watchful guise of Animal Show staffer Drew) consisted of a pounding bass line and maybe 2 lines of lyrics. But my curiosity had been piqued, so I went home and ordered an import copy of the I’m a Cuckoo EP, which contained the remix. I was thunderstruck. This wasn’t so much a remix as it was a complete reorchestration — the magnificent body of the song was intact, but its insides had been made a gazillion times awesomer. It was like someone crammed SUE, the t-rex at the Field Museum, into B+S frontman Stuart Murdoch’s tiny little indie-man skin. And now he roars with the fierce power of a million bajillion years of special dominance, but instead of teeth, inside his mouth are 35 members of a South American vocal ensemble, who sound like they’re having the time of their lives. Eat it up:

I’m a Cuckoo – Belle and Sebastian (mediafire) [Buy Dear Catastrophe Waitress]

I’m a Cuckoo (The Avalanches Remix) – Belle and Sebastian (zshare) [Buy some Belle and Sebastian music.]

February: 19/28

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

