Skip to content

What Comes Before Part B?

February 19, 2009
This is what happens when you google image search partay

This is what happens when you google image search "partay"

ANSWER: PARTAYY!!

I’ll give you a minute to figure that one out and then smile weakly.

Ok, with that out of the way it’s time to drop a couple of hawt tracks on you that were released earlier this month by the self-proclaimed Showbizznessman with the Dumbest Name: Party Ben. If you go to his site, you’ll find videos for these two tracks plus another one, which I had watched almost before he posted them because I’m a blogger and that’s what I do. Then I was going to wait for him to master the tracks and release them. Then he took forever. Then he pooped the first two out. Then he made a post about fart jokes and I was like eff this ess and just (JUST) decided to post the first two for now.

First is the worst: another version of the Boulevard of Broken Songs, this time mashed up with Kanye West’s critically overplayed “Flashing Lights” (and I cite GTA IV for that assertion. Gamers know what I’m on about). I’m not posting this so much because it’s “good” per se, or even just because it came in a 3-pack with two actually good songs. No. This song is special, because it’s a primo example of a META-MASHUP. Dude took one of his old mashups (2004), and mashed it with a newer song! Sweet Jesus! (P.S. I hereby coin the term “Remashup” and all permutations)

Second is the best (of two): I hate (love) saying this, but I was listening to Rihanna and T.I.’s “Live Your Life” waaaaay before it got popular. By the time I heard it at a party, I was totally over it. But now it’s back, and totally appropriate for this hipster blog because it’s mashed up with…wait for it…VAMPY WEEKEND! Hurrah! Those wacky dudes in their solid-color American Apparel tightie-purplies (or whatever color) completely rob Rihanna of her significant intense tonage and make it an affair to skip gaily about to. I dig this song hard, and I expect you will too. Otherwise we’re not friends anymore.

Boulevard of Flashing Lights – Party Ben (MP3)

Live Your Life, Punk – Party Ben (MP3)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Party Ben permalink
    March 4, 2009 9:28 pm

    Jeez, nobody likes the new Boulevard with Kanye, and that’s my fave of the bunch. What’s the problem? Is it too repetitive? I kind of see that. But still, I’d listen to the back-and-forth groove of Flashing Lights on repeat for like 7 hours.

    • icebergxc permalink
      March 8, 2009 4:02 pm

      Don’t take it so hard, I’m all aboard for a Kanye mashup, but I’d trade almost anything within arm’s reach not to hear Billie Joe sing about the loneliness of the road upon which he walks (purportedly the sole highway in his experience). Flash those lights on someone else (Cut Copy? Santogold? I’m just thinking out loud). You gave Green Day something else beating besides their lonely heart and they didn’t change much. Part of what was so exciting about Rhianna and Vampire Weekend was the the feel of the song took a 180 but was still solidly built, whereas the Kanye in Boulevard of Flashing Lights feels like an extension of the Green Day more than something new. And I’m (We’re?) tired of Green Day.

  2. February 5, 2010 11:34 am

    This is good but DJ Gumby just came out with a new mashup album titled “Sample Jockey”. Download it and check it out.

    http://www.myspace.com/gogumbygo

Leave a Reply

