Skip to content

J. Tillman (of Fleet Foxes): “Firstborn”

February 17, 2009
This is the album art for "Vacillando Territory Blues," J. Tillman's most recent album, out now.

This is the album art for "Vacillando Territory Blues," J. Tillman's most recent album, out now.

For a while now, I’ve been trying to get rid of February the only way I know how: by ignoring it. I’ve been referring to this month as “Animalshowuary,” much to the annoyance of my friends, professors, and secretary, and it’s worked pretty well. But every now and then we must embrace the misery of the month in order to properly overcome it. I know that I for one haven’t experienced enough February melancholy yet, and I definitely need to get it out of my system. I can’t have February incidentally ruining any of the good months. Luckily, I found just the aid I need: a beautiful and plaintive music video from J. Tillman, of Fleet Foxes.

This music video is, to me, what all music videos for indie artists ought to be: a simple (and slightly home-made feeling) reflection of the music in film. Especially for folk-ish artists, this shouldn’t involve shots of the musicians or silly plots. It should just be some nice images, strung together to enhance the music instead of draw attention away from it. The following is “Firstborn,” the single (do albums still really have singles?) from J. Tillman’s Vacillando Territory Blues, which is a fantastic album. Enjoy, reflect, get really sad and refuse to do any work for 6 or so hours:

FOR SOME REASON, PITCHFORK.TV ISN’T ALLOWING ME TO EMBED THE VIDEO, SO YOU’LL HAVE TO WATCH IT THERE. My apologies for making you visit that awful, band-stealing site.

Vacillando Territory Blues is out now. Buy it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. marquismeowmersiv permalink
    February 18, 2009 1:13 am

    pitchfork sold out, lol.

Leave a Reply

