Skip to content

I want to be Biggie when I grow up

January 29, 2009
The Man. The Legend. The Coldest Stare in Hip-Hop.

The Man. The Legend. The Coldest Stare in Hip-Hop.

I do. I want to be Biggie. With the possible exception of the drug-dealing. And adultery. And violence. And baggy pants. And probably the rap — my flow isn’t all that good.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is that I want to be morbidly obese when I grow up. It’s part of my life-long goal to be the fattest person at my high-school reunion. And not in a “wow, he’s really stopped caring about himself” sort of way, but instead in a “DEAR GOD WHAT IS THAT THING?” sort of way. It’s a “to the pain” kind of idea. But I’ll be doing it to myself. And I’ll be gross fat. Really gross. And unhealthy, obviously. Ideally, I’d be so big I’d break bones in my legs when I tried to stand. It’s a beautiful dream I’m happy to share with you. But I digress….

I saw Notorious last weekend, and it was a nice film. I call it a “film” because it was serious business. And it was good. I’d recommend it. But you don’t read this because I recommend you films or even movies, but instead because I recommend music.

My all-time favorite hip-hop album is “Mos Def and Talib Kweli are Black Star”, but Biggie’s “Ready to Die” is giving it a serious run for its money. Although his subject matter tends towards violence, it’s delivered with emotional force, which is part of what Notorious gets across. It’s an album with a lot of force, and I’d recommend it. Especially if you’ve seen Notorious — the film contextualizes the album in a very cool way.

Sample my two favorite songs below (one of which, “Juicy,” you may recognize from Girl Talk’s Night Ripper‘s climax, when it was paired with Elton John).

Juicy – Notorious B.I.G.

Everyday Struggle – Notorious B.I.G.

If you don’t have it already, buy Ready to Die. Or get it on cassette and play it on your ghetto-blaster, for maximum faithfullness to Biggie’s legacy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

