Skip to content

Golden Retrieving Some Rock

January 23, 2009
This is the official ironic picture of the band Air Bud.

This is the official ironic picture of the band Air Bud.

Hello. I am Marquis Meowmers IV, and I have been asked by Edward to provide you with interesting things to listen to. My title of Marquis denotes that I am above an Earl, but below a Duke. I one day hope to assassinate my father, the Grand Duke Whiskers, so that I may take my rightful place in the Kingdom of Stupid Pet Names. But I digress… for today, my friends, I am here to present to you the explosive music of Air Bud.

Air Bud is related to E-603 by way of members; Ethan (the ‘E’ of E-603) plays keyboards, drinks beer, and screams his lungs out. Though this may excite some of the mash-up fanatics that frequent this site, you should be warned that this new material takes a significantly different direction from Something For Everyone. Direct comparisons can be drawn to electro-punk outfit, The Death Set, with hints of Dan Deacon (who has new tunes up on his MySpace) and Matt & Kim (who just put out a new album) thrown in. Ultimately, Air Bud sounds exactly like the party scene from 10 Things I Hate About You* (you know, the one where Kat gets too drunk and dances on a table to, like, Sublime) combined with the party scene from SLC Punk (you know, the one with the fight between that guy from ‘Friends’ and some Morman rednecks). Super-fun synths plus drum machines plus mindless screaming plus lyrics like “You people think we’re dogs / but we just want to rock / you think we give a shit / but we don’t give a fuck” combine to make one super-fun, 4-song EP. While this might not be everyone’s cup of tea, those with the urge to chug PBR while shooting skeet with grandma’s china set instead of clay pigeons might enjoy this shift of tempo.

The best part? The EP is free off of their MySpace site by way of ZShare.

Sample one song here: The Internet – Air Bud

*R.I.P Heath Ledger

(EDITOR’S NOTE: AS IF YOU NEEDED ANY FURTHER REASON TO LISTEN, CHECK OUT THIS PICTURE OF THE BAND. AWESOME, RIGHT? — Ed. Edw.)
(EDWARD’S NOTE: ALSO, MARQUIS MEOWMERS IV IS THE NEW WRITER I PREVIOUSLY REFERRED TO AS “DOUG.” HE TOOK THIS WHOLE ANIMAL SHOW THING FAR TOO LITERALLY. I STILL SUPPORT THE SUPER-COOL PEN NAME.)
5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 2:21 pm

    Wait. Does this “Doug” have any connection to E-603, or as only “Doug” would know him, “Ethan”? I just have this strange feeling that they’ve met each other before.

    Also that “Doug” has resorted to blogging about E-603 since he can’t talk about him anymore. Because his mouth is full. Of E-603’s balls.

  2. Edward permalink*
    January 23, 2009 4:19 pm

    Lady and gentleman readers of the Show, allow me to also introduce yet another of the new writers, Drew, who hides behind the internet alias “An Iceberg.”

    He’ll be the crotchety old man of the neighborhood, coming out to shake his fist and yell for his fellow writers to “get the hell off my lawn.” Also, he’s just plain mean. In a funny way sometimes, I guess. But mainly he’s cruel in a way that other people don’t get.

  3. Edward permalink*
    January 23, 2009 4:21 pm

    Additionally, it bears mentioning that Drew knows Doug in “real life” (aka life outside of the internet), and they have a rapport based on mutual disdain. Some might call it “love-hate;” I’d call it “disdain.”

  4. marquismeowmersiv permalink
    January 24, 2009 12:30 pm

    Awwww, Drew is jealous. That’s cute. ^_^

  5. January 30, 2009 2:53 pm

    how i “get the hell of” a lawn?

    P.S did you know that I can edit comments on my posts?
    -Marquis Meowmers IV

Leave a Reply

