Skip to content

N.A.S.A Blasts Off

January 12, 2009

OR SOME OTHER SPACE-RELATED PUN

Oh, to be young and at space camp! But look out, child, because your mind is about to get totally melted by musical spirits, which look and act a lot like those weird God-ghosts at the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark.

Oh, to be young and at space camp! But look out, child, because your mind is about to get totally melted by musical spirits, which look and act a lot like those weird God-ghosts at the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark.

You may remember way back in my Kanyeezy for Diversity post that I posted a track from N.A.S.A.’s upcoming album, The Spirit of Apollo, and then I went completely nuts about the artists featured on that track (re-posted below). I told you that the album was going to hold you prisoner and put you in a weird human-zoo where other hip-hop artists would come and pay exorbitant prices to throw cheerios into your cage or, if you’re sufficiently tame, come into your confine and pet you. And I mean that in the coolest way possible, because this zoo is going to rock. Like, chocolate waterfalls and perpetual rainbows and maybe a bush made of pretzels or something, I don’t know, I haven’t really completely planned it. In case you didn’t believe me, here are a couple new songs off the album, which should get you sufficiently riled up.

Whachadoin’ (feat. Spank Rock, M.I.A., Nick Zinner and Santogold) – N.A.S.A.

Remember how happy I was about Santi, Lykke Li + Kanye? This is a close 2nd for glee-some threesomes. M.I.A. + Santi is always good, and then Spank Rock icing is my favorite kind. Nick Zinner is the lead guitarist of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, whom I’ve never listened to, so if you have some tracks I should check out, plz point me to them. (PS sorry for the DJ drops in this — it’s the price you have to pay for sweet leaks…)

Money (feat. David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge & Z-Trip) – N.A.S.A.

Criminy! David Byrne and Chuck D on the same track? This is amazing. I love Talking Heads, and feel like they’re a band who should be mashed up more frequently. 163 blogpoints to each person who can hook me up with a good Talking Heads mash. 13823 Blogpoints for each Talking Heads/Public Enemy mash-up I receive.

Gifted (feat. Kanye West, Lykke Li & Santogold) – N.A.S.A.

Still amazing.

Spirit of Apollo hits stores Feb 17th. Prepare yourself.

N.A.S.A.’s Myspace.

Whachadoin’ via Nashville Nights
2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 10:16 pm

    You totally posted this without even listening to any of things songs, or did a friend tell you they were good??

  2. Edward permalink*
    February 18, 2009 10:55 pm

    As you may have noticed, I posted this a month before the album came out, and about 2 weeks before it leaked. While I would maintain that these individual songs are pretty awesome (and that they gave good reason to be excited for the album), I do agree with you that the album, as a whole, is a catastrophe.

    Anyway, I definitely did listen to them before posting them. I’m sorry to hear you don’t think that these are good — remember, things are not black and white. An album doesn’t have to be all good or all bad. There are highlights and passable songs. Personally, I would pass the rest of this album, but find these songs highlights. Apparently you’d pass all of it. I respect that.

Leave a Reply

