Skip to content

Barely League-al

January 8, 2009
This is what rock looks like.

This is what rock looks like.

For a while now, I’ve been nursing a painful addiction. An addiction to The Ivy League (and awkward hooks to blog posts). “Who are the Ivy League?” you cry from way out in cyberspace. See, that’s why I’m the blogger and you’re the readers. I find this shit, man. Remember that French band? I’m here for you, sending you the jams and giving much-needed exposure. And, believe me, the Ivy League is long-overdue for some good hyping.

Not to be confused with “This is Ivy League,” The Ivy League is a high-school band. Yes, you read that right. I’ve been told that only one of the members of the band has his driver’s license. And they have to bum smokes when they’re trying to look cool lurking in the alleyways behind their venues after blasting through their set. But instead of being like the bands you were forced to listen to in high school because the drummer was one of your oldest quote-unquote friends, these guys don’t bother with noise or ego-tripping solos. Instead, they’ve managed to find a pattern which works really damn well for them — they write songs with musical sensibilities years above their time, dealing in squeaky-clean pop hooks and infectious lyrics. Though I’d be lying if I said this band was breaking any real musical ground, they’ve molded a sound that I can only describe as being like Pop Rocks: the Ivy League’s music explodes in your mouth with impressive force and a pleasantly sweet aftertaste, simultaneously surprising and pleasantly familiar. Just don’t drink Coke while listening, or something.

FUN FACT: Adrian Simon, the lead singer of the Ivy League, is the son of the Legendary Paul Simon. FUN FACT #2: Sometimes, famous musicians’ kids make music, too. (Consequently, I would argue that I’d be more impressed if Art Garfunkel’s kid were making cool music. I mean, Paul Simon’s pretty good and all, but he never guest-starred on PBS’ Arthur.)

I’ve attached two of my favorite Ivy League songs below. Be sure to go to their purevolume site and download the single, “Hallelujah! It’s the New Year!”

High school never sounded so good:

California’s Burning (Under the Knife) – the Ivy League

Honey, These Words Won’t Write Themselves – the Ivy League

Their debut album, North Star, is due out in the next couple months. I’ll keep you posted.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Edward permalink
    January 8, 2009 1:09 pm

    Attention, Animal Show disciples in the New York area: the Ivy League will be delivering the jams this Saturday at Don Hill’s. Go, for me.

    http://www.donhills.com/events/2009/01/090110.html#NC

Leave a Reply

