Skip to content

Buzzin’: Friendly Fires

January 5, 2009
HOLY SHIT A SWEAR WORD IS TOTALLY IMPLIED BY THIS AD! KEEP THE CHILDREN AWAY FROM THE TELEVISION SETS!

HOLY SHIT A SWEAR WORD IS TOTALLY IMPLIED BY THIS AD! KEEP THE CHILDREN AWAY FROM THE TELEVISION SETS!

In order to celebr8 the long-awaited return of everyone’s favorite txt-literate teen drama, Gossip Girl, I thought I’d give a look at a band which I first heard of on that program: Friendly Fires. (itwasonepisode6, youknow, theonewheretheywenttoYale, butittotallywasn’tYalebecauseitwasobvifilmedatColumbia, duh?)

Anyway, on that episode, which made about as much sense as the above syntactical catastrophe of a sentence (and which was easily the worst episode of the season), this super-hot track got played, and I was all like, “whoa, dudes, who was that with the music?” Unfortunately, I watched the episode at home, by myself, and in the dark, so, as usual, nobody was there to respond. But thx, internets, because I found out about Friendly Fires and now my life is good! Find the song, “White Diamonds,” in addition to my other favorite FF song, “I’m Good, I’m Gone,” (which is a sick Lykke Li cover) after the br8k.

White Diamonds – Friendly Fires

I’m Good, I’m Gone (Lykke Li cover) – Friendly Fires

Check out their myspace, and then buy the album, which is out now.

Also, I was feeling too lazy to try to put my finger on who Friendly Fires sounds like, so 43 blogpoints to whomever can come up with the best musical point of comparison.

EDIT: Pitchfork totally stole my band, and reviewed the album today. I guess the review is nice, if your head is totally up your butt and you need to feel more pretentious than your friends (surprise, idiot: your friends read that site, too). Anyway, this is a call for all Animal Showers to email p4k and call the people there dirty names. Or just tell them how the Animal Show is a million times the website they’ll ever be. In their stupid, unshaved faces!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

