Skip to content

Kanyeezy for Diversity, and Me for Controversy

December 27, 2008
So damn hood.

So damn hood.

Every now and then, I like to pretend that I’m a different kind of hipster than I am. I unbutton one additional button on my shirt, and then I listen to Kanye. And then I sing along the only way I know how — by mumbling most of the words until he gets to the end of a line, at which point I yell, to even out my earlier quietness. Because you read this blog, you are obviously exactly like me in every way, so you know what I’m about. Anyway, Kanye is a different man these days than he used to be. No longer flitting between being so bad it’s awesome (and I’m not embarrassed to say that’s my favorite Kanye track.) and so awesome he’s unavoidable, 808s and Heartbreaks fell in between. Don’t get me wrong, there were some good moments, but as a whole, it didn’t have the arrogance I expect and need from Kanye.

I’ve scoured the internet to find songs that shows the Kanye I love, the Kanye of “American Boy,” the Louis-Viutton Don we all wish we were. I found these two tracks, which both show why Kanyeezy is the man. Neither are his, but both are awesome. N JOI!

Pro Nails – Kid Sister (feat. Kanye West)

Kanye’s verse owns this song. I don’t know or care who Kid Sister is, but me likey Kanye. EDIT: based on the advice of a faithful reader, I am currently reevaluating my stance on Kid Sister. Her verse in this song is growing on me, and I’m examining her other traxxx. I’ll keep you posted.

Gifted – N.A.S.A. (feat. Kanye West, Santogold & Lykke Li)

This is the sort of collab I lie in bed dreaming of. Santi, Yeezy, and Lykke?? AAAAH! N.A.S.A.’s album is going to own my life. Look for it.

Leave a Reply

