Skip to content

My Top 5 Songs of 2008

December 22, 2008

Unlike my favorite albums of live acts or movies or anything sensible, my favorite songs reflect what gets me bobbing my head in embarrassingly reflexive reaction to the beats. These are the sort of songs I can put on repeat and still enjoy. And, for the most part, they’re hip-hop. Maybe they represent more of the guilty pleasure side of my musical taste. Blurbs, list and links after the break.

  • 5) Beyonce – Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It): If you haven’t seen the music video for this, you’re living under a rock. I’m still working on learning the moves, but I’ve got this much down: having a Robotic Hand makes everything a little cooler. This is an uncompromising joy ride of hard-hitting beats and the sort of wails only Beyonce can pull of. It’s no “Irreplaceable,” sadly, but it’s my November party anthem nonetheless.
  • 4) Vampire Weekend – Ottoman: Vampire Weekend are crazy addictive. I’ve probably listened to the album 50-odd times now, and by the end I’m always craving the beginning again. By mid-September, however, I was craving new material. Luckily this gem dropped right around then. Not ashamed to cover ground they’ve tread well, those cheeky Manhattanites followed their pattern perfectly, going so far as to even repeat lyrics from a previous song. Oh-ho! Indie bastards! How I hate to love you!
  • 3) Swizz Beats – That Oprah: Viva La Vida is like the flaming bag of crap you leave on your old racist neighbor’s doorstep, but, because you rang his doorbell at 8:30 PM, he answers the door without his glasses and mistakes the enflamed turd for an orphaned baby who needs changing. Later, you see him walking the poop in a stroller around the block, and you think, “how the hell did I work my way into this metaphor?” Has noone caught onto how boring and repetitive that album is? Do people still like Coldplay uncompromisingly? I enjoy 3 songs on Viva La Vida, and that’s on days when I’m feeling generous. This masterpiece/craptastrophy samples the opening salvoes of the title track of my choice for most over-rated album of 2008, and then provides some choice rhymes over the pop beat. My personal favorite couplet? “Bill Gates! Steve Jobs! iPhones! Microsoft!” Shakespeare is crying in his grave.
  • 2) The Black Kids – I’m Not Gonna Teach Your Boyfriend How to Dance With You: Every now and then, you get a free song on iTunes that’s worth more than just one listen. I was really excited when I saw this was free, because the Black Kids definitely deserve the exposure that got them. Basically, this has everything I look for in songs to beat to death: a hummable synth part, repetitive lyrics, and explicit references to dance. If you can sing or shout “dance” while dancing, you know it’s an awesome song.
  • 1) Estelle ft. Kanye West – American Boy: Late summer and early fall of this year, it was hard for me to turn my head without hearing this song. And I can say honestly I liked it more every time I heard it. Each of those million times. In a year in which Kanye spent the better part embarrassing us with off-key warbling, this reminded me of why I loved him. I’ll give you a hint why – the man drops hot rhymes about his clothes being designer. Also, the way he enunciates the “rubbish” at the end of his verse is priceless.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave permalink
    December 30, 2008 1:21 am

    So, favorably commenting on his SNL performance, Kanye showed to a greater public that he dances like the everyman, and can sing no better than the everyman, making his appeal much broader. Even the fortysomething, New Jersey company man can relate.

    In all seriousness, I like the new album–perhaps not as much overall as his previous work, but I like it. Does this constitute a meaningful communication, Edward? Way to tell me that the blog is off the ground in the first place, dick.

  2. March 25, 2009 7:17 pm

    Hey, just stopping by to say that the mediafire link for the Vampire Weekend song is down.

Trackbacks

  1. A Synthesized Saturday: The Twelves « The Animal Show
  2. We’re All Contras. | The Animal Show
  3. It’s About Time | The Animal Show

Leave a Reply

